Rules Challenge

Welcome to the Rules Challenge.

Thank you to everyone who has provided me with feedback and suggestions. I am always looking for feedback and any interesting situations I can use, so please let me know about them so I can include them in this column. As I have stated in previous editions, the names will be changed to protect the innocent.

To send your suggestions, please click here.

Situation 2 (Current)

Posted on 09/06/2017

John cut his drive on the 8th hole and heard the ball hit the trees. When he got to the corner he found his ball dead, right up against the tree on the corner. He decided to declare the ball unplayable, incurring a penalty, and drop the ball two club lengths to the left. When dropped,the ball took a bad bounce and rolled back to a similar position to the one it was in before the drop. John stated that he had not obtained full relief from his original situation and was going to redrop the ball. His marker, Brian, said that if he took another drop it would cost him another penalty stroke.

Was John entitled to redrop his ball without any further penalty or was Brian right?

Show/Hide Answer

Situation 1 (Previous)

Posted on 08/06/2017

Last Saturday Tom hit off the 17th tee and pulled his shot into the hill on the left hand side of the fairway. He walked to the point where the ball crossed the hazard line and declared he was going to hit a provisional ball. He then walked forward and searched for his ball, found it and proceeded to play the original ball, picking up the provisional ball. Bruce, one of his foursome, pointed out to Tom that he was not entitled to hit the provisional ball in the first place, but having played a second ball it was now in play and the original was deemed to be lost.

Did Tom do the right thing or was his fellow competitor, correct?

Show/Hide Answer